Green Eggs and Ham

20131116-203003.jpg
Watercolor on paper, 12×16

I know you are all waiting with bated breath for the completion of McNugget Buddy (ha ha, we both know that’s a lie), but for now all I have is Dr Seuss and friends. I really enjoyed working on this piece, although I had to paint it twice.
I know some artists would rather stare at a Kinkade painting all day (or do some other very unpleasant thing) then paint the same thing twice. I don’t mind, practice makes perfect, right? Musicians have to play the same song dozens of times before they get it right so why shouldn’t visual artist do the same? The first time I attempted it in colored pencil, I just couldn’t get the colors right. I gave up on the pencils and re-started it with watercolor. It turned out alright, if I do say so myself.

3 thoughts on “Green Eggs and Ham

  1. Mary Robertson November 17, 2013 / 2:00 pm

    Love it! The book looks like a photo- exact replica. How did you decide which pages to paint? 😀

    • audreymontoya November 17, 2013 / 2:12 pm

      Thank you! I like these pages because the tracks flowed nicely from one page to the next. Although I think the text is kinda strange something about loving a goat…

Leave a Reply

