Orange Blossom

20131210-132021.jpg

Hey wonderful readers! Blah blah blah [insert joke here], here’s a watercolor painting. (I’m not feeling particularly loquacious)

I’m not sure how I feel about this one. I think it should go darker but the paper won’t take any more paint, its looking tired (if you don’t know what I mean by ‘tired’ its hard to explain, the paper just starts to look worn). I blame the turquoise I used for the dinosaur. It has this spotty texture that I hate. I’m just done with it. I even tried to break up the texture with colored pencil. Oh well, I can’t win them all. (Geeez, I sound like Charlie Brown)

20131210-132221.jpg

20131210-132248.jpg

20131210-132627.jpg

8 thoughts on “Orange Blossom

  1. edenfre December 8, 2013 / 7:30 pm

    I think it looks great even if the paper is “tired” šŸ˜› I had the exact same dinosaur when I was a kid!

  2. Matthew A Bennett December 8, 2013 / 7:47 pm

    That’s absolutely incredible! I thought you set the toys on the paper and took a picture. Very talented! I’m impressed.

  3. Powdered Wig Couture December 8, 2013 / 9:54 pm

    Wow! I thought these were figurines laid down on a table… then I read the words ‘watercolor painting.’ This is simply incredible, I must now stalk your blog and look at your other work.

  4. hitandrun1964 December 9, 2013 / 1:45 am

    I know exactly what you mean about the paper looking tired and worn. LOL I’ve thrown so much work away because I’ve felt like that. I really like the dinosaur:)

  5. basisto2013 December 18, 2013 / 1:20 am

    Really well done. Realistic dinosaur.

    • audreymontoya December 18, 2013 / 1:22 am

      Thank you! I was having a hard time with the colors and texture but it turned out ok in the end šŸ™‚

      • basisto2013 December 18, 2013 / 1:28 am

        That left left leg looks incredible it looks like its coming out of the painting.

Leave a Reply

