Bowl of fruit?

20131210-151346.jpg

Hola friends!! Every now and again I try my hand at oil, and fail. Here is one such failure. (Blogs can’t just be awesome stuff, right? There needs to be some sucky-ness to balance it out, you know, to make the good stuff look better)

I know, I know, you can stop laughing now. Alright I get it, this painting is bad. I said stop laughing! gosh! I don’t laugh at you (much). But I kind of like it. I tried a palette knife… It was fun… Bad but fun.

4 thoughts on “Bowl of fruit?

  1. thewisetent December 12, 2013 / 1:21 am

    This isn’t entirely ‘bad’ as you say. There are many redemptive parts to this! Keep using oils, they’re difficult to master, but the processes are fun, and eventually you’ll like the work you do.

    also, palette knives can yield some amazing pieces! Keep it up.

    • audreymontoya December 12, 2013 / 1:24 am

      Thank you so much for the encouragement! I will continue with oils I just don’t understand them like I understand watercolor, so I get frustrated easily.

      • thewisetent December 12, 2013 / 1:29 am

        I’m still new to them myself, but by far my favorite medium to work with. The gradients you can achieve are brilliant because you have time to work with the paint. Just keep in mind that when you put paint on your canvas or paper, you can still work with it, unlike watercolor which has tendencies to sink directly (and sometimes permanently) into the canvas. Cheers.

  2. Lola Marigold December 13, 2013 / 5:16 pm

    Actually it doesn’t suck! It is whimsical and fun and has a style. I like it a lot.

Leave a Reply

